Polity UG degree

Council of the States (Rajya Sabha)

The Rajya Sabha or the Council of States is called as upper house. It has a total number of 250 members including 238 from all the states and union territories and 12 members nominated by the President. The council of states Rajya Sabha is called as second chamber of the Parliament of India. The Rajya Sabha is an institution to protect the rights and interests of the states like the senate in USA. It was constituted on 3rd April, 1952.

The members for Rajya Sabha are elected by the members of the respective State Legislative Assemblies (MLAs). Apart from the members of the states, twelve distinguished members from the fields of literature, science, art, and social service were nominated by the President of India. Unlike House of People, Council of States is not subject to dissolution but one third of the members retire every second year. The term of the individual member is six years. The members of the Council of States are elected by their respective state legislative assemblies in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *